

## From the desk of Dr. Julie Carbajal, WSSA Board Chair

September 26, 2022

Dear Winston School Community,

Over the past two years The Winston School of San Antonio (WSSA) Search Committee has communicated with you regarding our quest to find the next Head of School (HOS) for the WSSA. We received your feedback regarding the qualities you wanted to see in a HOS. We worked extensively to find a candidate who would meet your high expectations.

The Search Committee concentrated on a myriad of criteria when screening candidates. Several included, but were not limited to; team builder, visionary, strong knowledge of student learning differences, supportive of students and staff, visible, caring, revenue enhancer, great listener, appreciative of diversity and inclusion in a great school community, and a doctoral degree was highly preferred.

At this time, we are proud to announce we have found a professional we are confident will work diligently to serve the WSSA community and lead our school into the future. We did not want to miss the opportunity to hire this candidate and feel lucky to have found someone from our founding school, The Winston School of Dallas.

Dr. Michelle Spoonemore is the current Assistant HOS at The Winston School of Dallas. She has independent and public school experience. Over the next months you will have opportunities to meet and dialog with Dr. Spoonemore. On January 20, 2023, we will be hosting a community reception for Dr. Spoonemore. Please mark your calendars for this event.

Dr. Peri-Anne Chobot will continue to lead the WSSA through June 30, 2023. Her expertise and devotion to our school have not only been beneficial but has resulted in moving the WSSA forward in all aspects. We continue to be appreciative of her endeavors.

Thank you for the support during this process. Please join us in welcoming Dr. Michelle Spoonemore formally to the WSSA on July 1, 2023.

Sincerely,

Julie A. Carbajal

Dr. Julie Carbajal Board Chair Search Committee Co-Chair

Stilli Caningto

William Carrington Immediate Past Chair Search Committee Co-Chair